Categories
Uncategorized

Anti-Racism in Academic Special Collections Libraries

Below is a set of resources for Special Collections Librarians to consult in order to enhance Anti-Racist practices in their work.

Princeton University Library. “Princeton University Library hosts remote archival program for HBCU students and looks critically at issues of race and representation in the archives.” https://library.princeton.edu/news/general/2020-08-28/princeton-university-library-hosts-remote-archival-program-hbcu-students-and

T-Kay Sangwand. “Black Excellence in LIS Syllabus.” http://bit.ly/blacklis

Shutack, Corinne. “100 Things White People Can Do or Racial Justice.” Medium.com, Aug 13, 2017. https://medium.com/equality-includes-you/what-white-people-can-do-for-racial-justice-f2d18b0e0234

IMPA TV. “Anti Racist/Anti Fascist Education” Playlist. Youtube.com. June 8, 2020. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLSNTIUy6GnXmNqUgD_F8DNJ-j5fbfoV97

Gregory, Bailie, Stamborski, Anna, Zimmermann, Nikki. “Scaffolded Anti-Racist Resources.” Docs.google.com, June 12, 2020. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1PrAq4iBNb4nVIcTsLcNlW8zjaQXBLkWayL8EaPlh0bc/

McInnis, Tatiana. “A Farewell Letter to DEI Work.” Inside Higher Ed, August 20, 2020. https://www.insidehighered.com/views/2020/08/20/diversity-equity-and-inclusion-offices-cant-be-effective-if-they-arent-empowered

Jackson, Lauren Michele. “What Is an Anti-Racist Reading List For?” Vulture, June 4, 2020. https://www.vulture.com/2020/06/anti-racist-reading-lists-what-are-they-for.html

Johnson, Tre. “When Black People Are in Pain, White People Just Join Book Clubs.” Washington Post, June 11, 2020. https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/white-antiracist-allyship-book-clubs/2020/06/11/9edcc766-abf5-11ea-94d2-d7bc43b26bf9_story.html

Eugenia Zuroski. “Holding Patterns: On Academic Knowledge and Labor.” Medium.com, April 5, 2018. https://medium.com/@zugenia/holding-patterns-on-academic-knowledge-and-labor-3e5a6000ecbf

“Toward Inclusive Outreach: What Special Collections Can Learn from Disability Studies” RBM: A Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage
Kevin M. O’Sullivan, Gia Alexander
Vol 21, No 1 (2020) https://doi.org/10.5860/rbm.21.1.11

Beam C. & Schwier C., (2018) “Learning in Place: The Teaching Archivist and Place-Based Education”, Archival Issues 39(1). doi: https://doi.org//archivalissues.11046

Valauskas, E. J. (2018). Pedagogical Strategies for Special Collections. Uncommon Culture, 7(1/2), 45-55. Retrieved from https://uncommonculture.org/ojs/index.php/UC/article/view/9235

Alexandra Mills, Désirée Rochat, and Steven High. “Telling Stories from Montreal’s Negro Community Centre Fonds: The Archives as Community-Engaged Classroom.” Archivaria, vol. 89, 2020, p. 34-68. Project MUSE muse.jhu.edu/article/755768.

SILVA, Judy L.; MCINTOSH, Barbara. An Independent Study Course by an Academic Library Department: Teaching with the Gems of Special Collections. RBM: A Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage, [S.l.], v. 20, n. 2, p. 95, nov. 2019. ISSN 2150-668X. Available at: https://rbm.acrl.org/index.php/rbm/article/view/24179. Date accessed: 24 aug. 2020. doi:https://doi.org/10.5860/rbm.20.2.95.

Arranging “The Library of Babel”: Special Collections, Undergraduate Research, and Librarian Engagement
Jonathan Sauceda
portal: Libraries and the Academy
Johns Hopkins University Press
Volume 18, Number 2, April 2018
pp. 391-408
10.1353/pla.2018.0021

The Journal of Academic Librarianship
Volume 43, Issue 3, May 2017, Pages 216-223. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2017.03.001
The Journal of Academic Librarianship
“Boundary Objects/Boundary Staff: Supporting Digital Scholarship in Academic Libraries.”
Robert D.Montoya

Journal of Radical Librarianship. Special Issue: Race and Power in Library and Information Studies 5, 2019. https://journal.radicallibrarianship.org/index.php/journal/issue/view/5

Princeton University Library. “Statement on Language in Archival Description.” https://library.princeton.edu/special-collections/statement-language-archival-description

The Library QuarterlyVolume 87, Number 3. https://www.journals.uchicago.edu/doi/abs/10.1086/692299
Teaching to Dismantle White Supremacy in Archives
Michelle Caswell

Identifying and Dismantling White Supremacy in Archives
August 2, 2018
By Nancy Kuhl
https://beinecke.library.yale.edu/article/identifying-and-dismantling-white-supremacy-archives

Karla J. Strand. “Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List.” Bibliographies in Gender and Women’s Studies, 2019. https://www.library.wisc.edu/gwslibrarian/bibliographies/disrupting-whiteness-in-libraries/

NYU Libraries. “Our Commitment to Anti-Racism.” http://library.nyu.edu/about/general/values/anti-racism/

University of Washington Library. “Racial Justice Resources: Antiracism and Solidarity.” https://guides.lib.uw.edu/racial-justice

Neal Wyatt. “Antiracist Reading and Viewing.” Library Journal, June 03, 2020. https://www.libraryjournal.com/?detailStory=Antiracist-Reading-and-Viewing-bookpulse

American Library Association. “Libraries Respond: Black Lives Matter.” Ala.org. http://www.ala.org/advocacy/diversity/librariesrespond/black-lives-matter

Harvard Kennedy School. “Racial Justice, Racial Equity, and Anti-Racism Reading List.” Harvard.edu. https://www.hks.harvard.edu/faculty-research/library-knowledge-services/collections/diversity-inclusion-belonging/anti-racist

Virginia Library Association. “Anti-Racism Reading List.” Vla.org. June 2020. https://www.vla.org/anti-racism-reading-list

Ashley Dennis. “The black women who launched the original anti-racist reading list.” Washington Post, June 18, 2020. https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/2020/06/18/black-women-who-launched-original-anti-racist-reading-list/

Booklist. “Reading for Change: Booklist Recommends Antiracism Titles for All Ages.” American Libraries, June 5, 2020. https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/blogs/the-scoop/reading-change-booklist-recommends-antiracism-titles-ages/

GIS for Equity and Social Justice. “Racial Equity GIS Hub.” https://gis-for-racialequity.hub.arcgis.com/

National Museum of African American History and Culture. “Talking About Race.” Nmaahc.si.edu. https://nmaahc.si.edu/learn/talking-about-race

Ibram X. Kendi and Jemele Hill. “How to be an Antiracist.” Aspen Ideas 2019 Festival. https://www.aspenideas.org/sessions/how-to-be-an-antiracist

Tasha K. “Anti-Racism Resource Guide.” Google Docs, June 19, 2020.

Halley, Catherine. “Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus.” JSTOR Daily, May 31, 2020. https://daily.jstor.org/institutionalized-racism-a-syllabus/

Chicago Public Library. “Anti-Racist Reading List from Ibram X. Kendi.” https://chipublib.bibliocommons.com/list/share/204842963/1357692923

Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of ACRL/ALA. “RBMS: Commitment to Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion.” RBMS.info. http://rbms.info/about/#diversity

“RBMS Diversity Committee.” http://www.ala.org/acrl/rbms/acr-rbmdiv

Archives and Records: The Journal of the Archives and Records Association. “CfP: Special Issue on Dismantling Systemic Racism in Archives and Record-keeping Practices.” https://socialhistoryportal.org/news/articles/310337

Columbia Rare Book & Manuscript Library. “Anti-Racist and Black Liberation Archives in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library.” Columbia’s Rare Book & Manuscript Library. June 8, 2020. https://blogs.cul.columbia.edu/rbml/2020/06/08/anti-racist-and-black-liberation-archives-in-the-rare-book-manuscript-library/

The Kennedy Center. “#BlackCultureMatters.” The Kennedy Center. https://www.kennedy-center.org/our-story/social-impact/

Issues and Advocacy. “ICYMI: Introducing the A4BLIP Anti-Racist Description Resources.” Issues and Advocacy. December 5, 2019. https://issuesandadvocacy.wordpress.com/2019/12/05/icymi-introducing-the-a4blip-anti-racist-description-resources/

Purdue University Libraries and School of Information Studies. “Diversity, Inclusion, Racism and Anti-Racism Resources.” https://guides.lib.purdue.edu/diversityresources

Texas Digital Library. “Texas Digital Library Statement Against Racism.” https://www.tdl.org/about-tdl/statement-against-racism/

Texas Digital Library. “Texas Digital Library Anti-Racism Resources.” https://texasdigitallibrary.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/COLLAB/pages/1390575620/Texas+Digital+Library+Anti-Racism+Resources

Ezra Lehman Memorial Library. “Archival Collections.” Shippensburg University. https://library.ship.edu/c.php?g=1035530&p=7669562

Taylor Ha. “The Work of Anti-Racism: A Conversation with Anthony Carter and Rafael Zapata.” Fordham University News, June 26, 2020. https://news.fordham.edu/university-news/the-work-of-anti-racism-a-conversation-with-anthony-carter-and-rafael-zapata/

Penn Libraries. “Diversity in the (Virtual) Stacks: Antiracism Resources.” Penn Libraries News, June 25, 2020. https://www.library.upenn.edu/blogs/libraries-news/diversity-virtual-stacks-antiracism-resources

Angela Galvan. “Soliciting Performance, Hiding Bias: Whiteness and Librarianship.” In the Library with the Lead Pipe, June 03, 2015. http://www.inthelibrarywiththeleadpipe.org/2015/soliciting-performance-hiding-bias-whiteness-and-librarianship

Middlebury Library. “Anti-Racist Statement.” Middlebury.edu, July 1, 2020. https://www.middlebury.edu/library/about/policies/anti-racist-statement

Society of American Archivists. “Social Justice.” Archivists.org. Sept 28, 2018. https://www2.archivists.org/advocacy/diversity-and-inclusion-toolkits/social-justice

Whitney Ray. “SAA 2017: Session 402 Identifying and Dismantling White Supremacy in the Archives: A Plan of Action.” SNAP Roundtable, Aug 21, 2017. https://snaproundtable.wordpress.com/2017/08/21/saa-2017-session-402-identifying-and-dismantling-white-supremacy-in-the-archives-a-plan-of-action/

Mario H. Ramirez (2015) “Being Assumed Not to Be: A Critique of Whiteness as an Archival Imperative.” The American Archivist: Fall/Winter 2015, Vol. 78, No. 2, pp. 339-356. https://americanarchivist.org/doi/10.17723/0360-9081.78.2.339

Anthony W. Dunbar, “Introducing Critical Race Theory to Archival Discourse: Getting the Conversation Started,” Archival Science 6, no. 1 (2006): 109–29, doi:10.1007/s10502-006-9022-6.

George Lipsitz, “Libraries and Memories: Beyond White Privilege 101,” Librarian 32 (2009): 3–9.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.